The day before…….

30 11 2010

What a hectic day we have had, not to mention stressful!

We had aimed to get away on the journey to Dover at around the 3pm mark, we had shopping to do, presents to post, money to change, toilet fluids to get, LPG to fill up and clothes to collect. A fair few little jobs but we didn’t expect the unexpected. The first few jobs went ok, the shopping was fine though we spent more than we wanted on tea bags, tinned fish, pasta and the like, stocking up on essentials. I then had to go and get some flea treatment for Jack at the pet shop. I walked in an asked for what i wanted only to be told by the assistant in the shop that she couldn’t sell it to me as she ‘wasn’t qualified’ so I had to wait for the ‘qualified to sell’ assistant to come back. Half an hour I waited, talking rubbish and generally getting quite annoyed. When the ‘allowed to sell’ assistant arrived she asked me if ihad used the treatment before and if the dog had had it before…………that’s it! Apparently that qualifies her to sell it over her colleagues……surreal.

That done, a quick cup of tea at Lornas parents and we were off to Albrighton to stock up on toilet chemicals. The job in between was to fill up our gas bottles with LPG which should have been quick and easy but, as always with our gas bottles there was a problem! They filled up ok but I noticed that there was a leak from the top of the main bottle. I was annoyed, very annoyed as virtually the entire system has been replaced over the last 6 months. A quick phonecall to Dave Newell in Telford and we were on our way to get it sorted. Turns out that one of the nuts had cracked and wasn’t tightening properly, luckily dave had one in and it was soon replaced and all sorted…………again! Next to Albrighton to get the toilet chemicals, on the way mywindscreen washers froze up so once the chemicals were bought I went to the garage next door and bought some screenwash. To get it into the filler bottle I used the light on my mobile phone so I could see what I was doing. Job done I closed the bonnet and off we set.

After about 15 minutes driving I heard a bit of a bang and soon realised that I hadd forgotten to remove my phone from the engine compartment and that it was currently happily bouncing it’s way along the A41 at 40mph. So, now I have no phone and I leave the country tomorrow at 7.30am…………arse!

Clothes collected from Moms and we finally started on our last journey of the day down to Dover. It was 5.30pm, over two hours later than we had planned to leave, it was cold and dark and a stop was required on the M40 to clean the windscreen and unfreeze the washer nozzles. About 50 miles away from Dover the snow came and we were reduced to 30mph in poor visibility. Eventually we arrived at 10.20pm and put the kettle on!

Still a bit annoyed about the phone situation and i’m not entirely sure what i am going to do about it, maybe buy a French one with cheap international calls and make do with that for the next month or so, then a Portuguese one etc etc. I might end up with more numbers and phones than I need!

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 11 2010
David

things can only look up from here! Bon voyage, Steve and Lorna!

30 11 2010
Verity

Have a great time!! miss you xxx

1 12 2010
Jen

Hope there’s no snow in France and that you make rapid progress to somewhere warmer.

1 12 2010
andy bubble

that sounds like the mother of all days. bad luck with the phone. at least it wasn’t the ipod touch under the bonnet! just keep on bloggin, and keep us updated on all gas leaks…………..

Leave a Reply

