4th April 2010 Silves

5 04 2010

We pottered about in the morning, not doing a great deal apart from taking Jack on a good long walk to wear him out for the afternoon as we were going to be out at the country and western dinner dance with Graham (now to be referred to as Twinkle Toes) and Diane.

The show started at 2pm so we got there on time, paid, gave our menu choices and took our seats at a reserved table for four. There was already a bottle of red wine on the table and it wasn’t long before a bottle of white appeared as well, all in the price. The meal itself was quite good, a nice soup to start and then chicken, fish or pork for the main and then a choice of rice pudding or fruit salad. As we ate the music and singing started, the artist was JJ Johns and though I’m not a massive fan of country and western it was actually quite good. Everybody there appeared to be English and many of them were obvious followers of the artist, it wasn’t long before many had finished the meal and were up dancing.

I found it most amusing when people started line dancing. Normally when people dance they have a smile on their face but the people line dancing seemed very dowd, hardly a smile to be seen and almost robotic in their movement, I wondered if this was the normal way it was done. I was soon to find out for myself.

After JJ had finished his first set he came made the effort to go round to each table and have a chat, of course he knew most people there but he didn’t leave us out, stopping at our table for a good while, making us feel most welcome.

Just as the Easter bonnet competition was finishing I walked back to the motorhome to make sure Jack was ok but my timing was not good as whilst I was away JJ did his Jonny Cash set which apparently was quite good, black coat and all. Just after I got back the line dancing started in ernest with an English lady complete with a microphone headset taught and guided from the front, Lorna and Diane were straight up but Twinkle Toes and myself sat it out and continued the tough task of drinking more wine. The line dancing was quite entertaining to watch as the people at the front appeared to know what they were doing and had the benefit of being right behind the teacher. Toward the middle and the back of the group though things were a little different, I likened it to ‘Chinese whispers’ as the further back you went the more confused the movement became, people following the ones directly in front of them the cause of the confusion. They all seemed to have a good time though.

After a lady singer did her bit everybody was encouraged to participate in another line dancing session, Twinkle Toes and I then realised why all the drink was included as it didn’t take much persuasion to get us both up and in a big circle with our partners. We were talked through the steps which I immediately managed to get muddled up, going forward when I should have been going backwards and kicking the wrong leg out, annoying Lorna who managed to remember the moves. After we did these steps for a bit a new one was introduced which resulted in the ladies on the outside of the circle changing partners after each set. This meant that I managed to unsucessfully dance with everyone, quite amusing really, even by the end if it I hadn’t got the moves right. Line dancing is clearly not my thing!

As the entertainment came to a close at 6pm we stayed a good while chatting and finishing off our free wine, of which we had had a fair amount by this time. Unable to resist more entertainment however we headed straight for a bar in town that had a live band on and got chatting to more people in there. I decided that I needed to check on Jack so I headed off back to the motorhome where on entering it I promptly tripped over his bed and fell flat on my face, breaking my glasses and giving myself a rather bruised eye, Jack was unharmed. This kind of knocked the wind out of my sails so I found my spare pair of specs and walked Jack back to the bar in town to collect Lorna. A bit of a disappointing end to the excellent day we had unfortunately.

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 04 2010
David Turner

Sorry to learn of your accident Steve. There’s clearly a design fault in the motorhome. Your next challenge is getting your specs repaired or replaced, isn’t it. Sounds like you both had fun, though!

5 04 2010
Steve Green

Clearly!

Glasses will repair easily with superglue. Lorna has promised to take a photo of my eye but says she wants to wait until it is really black!

5 04 2010
Graham

What a shiner Steve. Tripping over the dog basket seems a bit lame to me. Perhaps the big Dutch bloke, who’s toes you trod on, has had his revenge!!
All sedate and dark glasses from your camper today.
Twinkle Toes !!

5 04 2010
Steve Green

Quiet and sedate indeed, the bed didn’t go away until about 3pm with Lorna making numerous visits. Just in the mood for a big burger and some proper chips now but the better half is not yet at that stage, maybe later.

5 04 2010
suetortoise

Probably a good job you only broke your specs and bruised an eye. If you’d knocked the laptop off your table as you fell….

I bet Jack got a good laugh out of it.

5 04 2010
Steve Green

There is no need to rub it in about the laptop Sue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

