Hewlett Packard and I

22 02 2010

I am now so frustrated with the pitiful customer service offered by Hewlett Packard that I have decided to post up all of the communication between myself and them regarding the faulty hard drive in my Pavilion Dv6 1210sa laptop computer. The laptop is barely six months old and I have had severe problems with the hard drive not functioning correctly. When the laptop first crashed I immediately sent notification via their website help form:

21st January 2010 – Initial contact is made via the HP website

Problem Description : My hard drive has failed and the laptop will
not start up.

I am currently travelling in France and need to get the hard drive
replaced under warranty. Is it possible that someone could tell me
the best place to take the laptop to get this sorted out as I will
be travelling for 6 months and need my laptop working, it’s only a
few months old!

I get a severe clicking noise from the hard drive when starting up
and then an error message saying that a bootable device has not been
found. The product is the HP Pavilion Dv6 laptop, possibly not the
one I specified on the links previously.. I am having to use an Apple
iTouch to contact you.
The laptop was purchased at the Wednesbury branch of PC World, all
of the packaging and discs including the windows 7 upgrade is packed
up and in storage in the uk and not accessible.
I would be grateful if someone would take the time to help me. I can
be emailed at ******** or contacted on my mobile *******

Reply from HP on 22nd January 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for contacting HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that your HP Pavilion dv6-2090eo
Entertainment Notebook PC is not booting to windows screen, when you
turn on the notebook you get a message bootable device has not been
found with a clicking noise and want to know how to replace the hard
drive or find the nearest HP bootable device has not been found to
replace the hard drive..

I realize the importance of the issue and will make sure that I give
you appropriate information.

Steve, that you for sending the complete and detailed description of
the issue, such detailed text enables us to provide correct and
speedy resolutions

Possible causes: hard drive failed or corrupted operating system.

To replace new hard drive you can visit out nearest HP Authorized
Support Partner or we will be able to send a new hard drive to your
mailing address under warranty.
To isolate the issue with hard drive or corrupted operating system I
request you to please try performing the following steps.

Test 1: Hard drive test.

1. If the notebook computer is running solely on battery
power, plug the AC adapter into the notebook.

2. Shut down the computer if it is running.

3. Press the power button to turn on the computer.

4.Press f10 when the HP/Compaq logo displays.

5. After the BIOS Setup Utility displays, use the Right
Arrow key to select the Diagnostics menu.

6. Select HDD Self-Test options.

7. Press enter to display a list of HDD/Self-Test options.

8. Select Notebook Hard Drive and then press f10 to display
an estimated test time.

9. Press f10 to continue. The Hard Drive Self Test executes
a Quick test, a Comprehensive test, and a SMART test.
Please let us know the results.
If in case you are unable to perform the test I request you to
please try reseating the hard drive from the notebook.
Step 2: Remove and Reseat the Hard Drive:

You can visit the following HP website to learn how to reseat the
hard drive in your notebook PC:
http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01860375.pdf
NOTE: Clicking the link may give an error indicating it is invalid..
If this occurs, copy the portion of the address on the remaining line (s) and paste it atthe end of the address showing in your browser
until the complete address is displayed in the Address box.

Once the document is opened please scroll down to page 14 to view
the steps to remove and replace the harddrive.

You may also find the nearest HP Authorized Support Partner within
the UK by visiting the following Web site:

http://vdccnzpro.houston.hp.com/GPL/search.aspx?language_code=en&country_code=UK&SearchType=SMB&specialization=SPEC

NOTE: Clicking the link may give an error indicating it is
invalid. If this occurs, copy the portion of the address on the
remaining line(s) and paste it at the end of the address showing in
your browser until the complete address is displayed in the Address
box.
If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we
will be happy to assist you further..
For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and
running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/
diagnostics


Sincerely,
Kenneth

HP Customer Care

After this the laptop started working again so no further assistance was necessary at this time, I did get a chasing email though.

Sent from HP on 29th January 2010

Hello Steve,

This is Kenneth from HP E-mail Support Team.

I am personally following up on your email interaction with us,
please do let us know whether the information provided was helpful,
and whether the issue is resolved. If you need further assistance,
please reply to this mail and we will be happy to assist you
further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and
running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/
diagnostics

HP Customer Care http://welcome.hp.com/country/uk/en/support.html

Sincerely,

Kenneth
HP Customer Care

And my reply on the 31st January 2010

Hi Kenneth,

The laptop started working again after running the startup utility,
despite the program saying that it couldn’t fix the problem!

Strange

Many thanks

Sent from my iPod

Their reply on 1st February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for replying back to us.

I gather from your mail that issue was resolve after running startup
utility, but the program said that it could not fix the problem.

I appreciate your patience and cooperation with us in this regard.

Steve, I regret to inform you that verifying the problem description
and way the issue was resolved we suspect it might be an hardware
issue, hence I request you to please try performing the hard drive
test and also reseating the hard drive as instructed in our previous
mail, by performing the steps we can isolate if it’s a hardware or software issue.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we
will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and
running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

Kenneth
HP Customer Care

Another couple of chasing emails were received to which I didn’t reply, however, the computer started showing signs of failing again so this message was sent on 12th February 2010

Hi Kenneth

My computer has been working ok since my last email to you, however
today I have the same problem back again. I ran a hard drive test from
the start up screen this morning and all was well on both of the
scans. I then carried out a memory test which failed and now the hard
drive is making the same scraping noises and I have had both an error
message saying that a hard drive does not exist and the message saying
that no operating system exists. At the moment the computer has the
Windows welcome screen with ‘Starting Windows’ message but this is
static and the hard drive is scraping and scratching. As I said it has
been ok for the past week or so.

This is immensely frustrating. I am trying to backup my data as much
as possible but the unreliability of the computer is just not
acceptable at all.

I have taken out the hard drive and re-seated in accordance with your
instructions but this has made no difference..

As I have said before I need the computer reliable and working.

I am in Northern Spain at the moment so cam you suggest somewhere
where I can get this issue sorted as soon as possible, under warranty,
preferably with a replacement laptop as this one us clearly not
suitable for the purpose fir which I purchased it.

Kind regards

Steve Green.

Sent from my iPod

Now Samantha gets involved with the situation! Received on the 12th February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for replying to HP Customer Care.

Steve, we suggest you to contact the Spain Technical support and we will forward this case to the Spain Support so that they can assist you further.

Spain Technical Support Number:

902 010 333

Thank you for your Patience.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

HP Customer Care http://welcome.hp.com/country/uk/en/support.html

Sincerely,

Samantha
HP Customer Care

My reply, also on the 12th February 2010

Hi Samantha,

Unfortunately I do not speak Spanish so me calling the Spanish helpline would be next to useless for me. As this is a recurring problem which needs sorting I would be grateful if you could arrange repair or replacement for me and let me know where I need to go.

I am travelling Europe for the next five months and rarely have an Internet connection so I would be grateful if you would be able to go the extra mile to help me out of my predicament. I will be on the north west coast of Spain within the next week or so, so if there is a contact centre in A Coruna that would be ideal..

All I need is an address and confirmation that the work/replacement will be done under warranty.

Hopefully you can help me.

Steve

Sent from my iPod

I think that me offering to go to a recognised service centre in either Spain or Portugal is a pretty good one to be honest but can they provide the address?? Now James gets involved, received on the 13th February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that you will be travelling Europe for the next five months. I see that you will be on the north west coast of Spain during the next week.

Steve, I realize the importance of the issue and will make sure that I give you appropriate information.

Steve, in all probability your notebook PC needs a physical examination at HP service centre. I can forward the issue to HP Spain customer support so that they will contact you and discuss the possible options for repair service. Therefore, please provide us with the telephone contact number of yours in Spain so that I can forward the case to HP Spain phone support.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

My reply on the 13th February 2010 with the computer problems escalating.

Hi James

Thanks for the reply. The computer is now saying that the SMART test is predicting an imminent hard disk faliure and asks me to back up, unfortunately Windows won’t start so it looks as if it is too late for recovery.

My contact numbers are ***** or *****

Many thanks for your help.

Steve

Sent from my iPod

And the considered response from James again on the same day, 13th February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that you are getting “SMART test hard disk faliure” error message. I see that Windows does not start.

Steve, the error message indicates the hard drive needs to be replaced.

Steve,we can immediately ship a new replacement hard drive to your U.K. address. Also, if you do not have the recovery CDs we can also ship it along with the hard drive. Please let us know if it would be convenient to collect these items from U.K. address when you will be traveling to Europe.. If yes, please let us know the following details:

Shipping Information in U.K. :

* Full Name:

* Company name:

* County code:

* Address:

* City:

* Postal code / Town or County:

* Country:

* Contact telephone number in U.K.:

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

Ermmmmmmmm, Hello??

Having internet access I managed to reply again on the 13th February 2010

Hi James,

The computer is with me in Spain at the moment and will not be back in the UK for a number of months so can not be collected, shipping a replacement hard drive to my UK address is also not going to work.

What I would like you to do is to let me know of somewhere that I can take the computer to so that it can be repaired as quickly as possible under warranty. Ideally this repair should be done within a couple if days of me dropping it off as I am moving around all of the time.

If you have a service centre in either Spain or Portugal that you could give me the address of I can get there with the laptop but would need them to know of my situation as I speak neither language and would need them to turn the repair around quickly.

I could get anew hard drive fitted by a unauthorised dealer but I do not want to invalidate my warranty.

Do I now assume that with this error message none of my data is recoverable?

Many thanks

Steve

Sent from my iPod

The reply from James on the 13th February 2010 and the inflexibility of a global corporation starts to show it’s ugly head.

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

Steve, still it is possible to recover the data from a qualified computer service technician. They would connect your hard drive to a working laptop PC and copy the data from the hard drive to a permanent media.

However, now, visiting the authorized service centers in Spain or Portugal for repair/parts replacement may not be possible. This is because when the unit is under warranty we (HP customer care worldwide) follows a certain procedure to pick the notebook PC from customer address and return it back after a repair service. This would take approximately 10 business days. However, I can forward your contact number to HP Spain phone support so that they would get in touch with you.. You may then discuss the possible repair options with them. Please let us know of your opinion.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

My reply, again on the 13th February 2010, can you sense the frustration starting to build?

Hi James,

You will see from my previous emails that I have already provided telephone numbers, however, here they are again.

***** or *****

I realise that you have procedures to follow but this is not a normal case and can not fall within the normal boundaries.

What I need is fairly simple, a point to which I can take my faulty computer to be repaired under warranty. I am travelling in Europe and am prepared to go to a service point in either Spain or Portugal, they must surely exist?

I thank you for your help but it seems that the message is not completely getting through and I am beginning to get frustrated. This situation may require you to work outside of your normal parameters which I would appreciate greatly..

Many thanks

Steve

Sent from my iPod

Again on the 13th February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

Steve, we have understood your query completely. I was asking your consent to forward the case to Spain as you told it will not be convenient for you if we ship the hard drive part to U.K. address.

We have documented the entire issue and have forwarded it to the HP Spain phone support. When they contact you; you may discuss the possible repair options with them.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

Ok, buck well and truly passed. So the Spanish team are going to ring me or contact me by email………..getting somewhere maybe? My reply 13th February 2010

Hi James,

Thanks for your help, I look forward to speaking to the Spanish team soon.

Cheers

Sent from my iPod

Received on the 14th February 2010

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

Steve, in the future too, please let us know if we can further assistance to you. We appreciate every opportunity to serve you better. Not to mention, it was pleasant assisting such esteemed customers like you!

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Wish you have a great Sunday!

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

Apparently I am an esteemed customer!!!

Sent by me on 18th February 2010

Hi James,

I have received no call from the Spanish arm of HP.

I will be static with a postal address in a couple of days, if I let you know the address will you be able to send me a replacement hard drive and boot disk for Windows 7 as this is the OS I am running?

Obviously this will have to be sent by 48 delivery to a Spanish address from the UK but as the Spanish HP have failed to contact me your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Steve

Sent from my iPod

Further computer problems and no contact from the Spanish team apart from the standard ‘We have received your email’ reply that you get every time an email is sent. I sent this on the 22nd February 2010

Hi James,

I have still not received a reply to my email sent on the 18th February where I said that I would have an address in Spain where a replacement hard drive could be shipped to. I am likely to have this address on Thursday or Friday of this week. The lack of a reply is concerning to say the least. I did receive a standard email from the Spanish HP support but nothing since.

As I have said before, I need my computer working reliably. I have managed to get an Internet connection to send this but I will need to be contacted by phone to sort the details out, my phone number is *****.

Looking forward to a response soon.

Steve Green

Sent from my iPod

Their reply………….

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

Steve, I see that you are soon going to get a physical address in Spain. You wish HP U.K. to send the hard drive to you in Spain. I also see that HP Spain did not contact you.

I regret to inform you that International shipment is not supported in HP U.K. Therefore, I request you to contact HP Spain phone support at the earliest at the following phone number.

Title: HP Spain
http://welcome.hp.com/country/es/es/contact/contact_us.html

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
HP Customer Care

Clearly frustrated beyond all hope now, so my reply on the 22nd February 2010.

Hi James,

I can not believe that it is not possible to ship a hard drive to a Spanish address, where is the problem?

May I remind you that this laptop is barely 5 months old and has caused me nothing but trouble since the outset.

Can I respectfully suggest that this issue is passed to one of your supervisors so that a conclusion can be reached. It is obvious to me that neither HP Spain or HP UK are prepared to go slightly out of their way to support customers who have been supplied with faulty products. I again say that I have received no contact from HP Spain apart from a standard email received reply and HP UK seem to be quite happy to pass the buck without even trying to help me out of my situation with one of your faulty products.

It seems crass that a simple address is stopping me from getting my laptop in good working order, surely postage costs can not be an issue to a company the size of HP?

You will see from my emails that I have been prepared to travel to a service centre but you failed to supply me with an address, then I have been prepared to supply a shipment address for the dispatch of a new hard drive to replace the faulty one supplied in your new and guaranteed product and now it seems that even this is not possible, unbelievable for a company that apparently is global.

Please pass this email onto your supervisors and be aware that the entire content of the emails between yourself and I will be posted on my blog in the coming weeks.

I am disgusted with the service from a supposedly reputable company like Hewlett Packard!

Steve Green

Their reply…….

Dear Steve,

Thank you for writing to HP Customer Care.

Steve, I apologize if my suggestion caused any inconvenience to you. But, I was providing you the best possible option. It would be possible only for HP Spain Support to ship a hard drive to a physical address in Spain.

I have contacted my Supervisor regarding this and he has taken over the case from me. He would contact HP Spain phone support and advise them to ship the hard drive. Please be assured of our best services to you.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at: http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Sincerely,

James
So, now I am waiting again for a call from HP Spain, who will no doubt contact me within 48 hours and everything will be fine. Quite why it is not possible to send a replacement hard drive from the UK to a Spanish address completely amazes me, instead it is going to take a call from the UK arm of HP to the Spanish arm of HP who will then contact me, I just hope they speak English!

To be continued no doubt!
My apologies for the poor formatting of this blog post.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 02 2010
andy bubble

hey steve

this is very obviously the ocd man nerd inside me , but i’ve found reading all this stuff about your computor and HP fascinating……. I’m really looking forward to the next installment…I have no idea how this soap opera will end…I really hope its a victory for the little man…Stick it to em mate..

28 02 2010
Gordon

What a bunch of tossers!

Steve: If they don’t sort it out then you can have the stuff sent to me and I’ll UPS it to you at any address you want at my cost.

Gordon

1 03 2010
Steve Green

Cheers for that Gordon, appreciated. HP do seem to have come good in the end thanks to a guy who follows Twitter for them. New hard drive on it’s way to me on a campsite in Spain, boot disk to follow. Costing me a bit waiting for it but no other choice really.

Leave a Reply

